Getting in with…

Getting in with people. With adults, retired, children, teenagers. Getting into Estonian community, teasing at it a bit and sharing opinion about.

On Monday 23d of November we had an official meeting. By the way, I was joined to the staff almost as a formal member. Even I got a pink signed paper of “official team-player”. It was very kind and fun. A kind of breaking ice between us.

That one Monday I offered to have an Estonian language course. It was a tricky plan and winning step. There is majority of people who speak only Estonian, so I has not  been like a duck to water. By observing this situation, it is easy to understand that giving a “teacher post” to a child/teenager we can see their personality deeper. Learning to learn or teaching a teacher. So, my little teachers got a professor’s hat with moustache and started to give me Estonian knowledge with a lot of homework.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am not the best one in pronunciation, but I am working hard on it. My first coherent steps to such a tricky Estonian:

Tere! Kuidas laheb? – Hey, how are you?

Mina olen vabatahlik. – I am volunteer.

… to be continued.

 

Leave a comment